nonsenses & truths

By sloeburn

Separation

A bit of an emergency blip, I took this for research purposes but haven't had anything more exciting to photograph since.

Having spent the past week in various stages of deafness my ears had a good cleaning out this morning and some antibiotics.  Now I can turn the subtitles off on the TV and stop partially lip reading.  I went to a workshop a while ago run by someone with a lot of experience working with deaf people, and I was quite shocked when she said that there is a high suicide rate in deaf people because it can be so very isolating.  I can't for a minute understand what it must be like to lose your hearing, or to never have it in a hearing world, but even this week has been challenging.  Not because I couldn't hear music or the TV or struggled to have conversations, but because I had no idea of what was going on around me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.