Universal humour?

As we have seen all too tragically in recent days, what may seem like humour to some is deeply offensive to others.  Do we have a right to poke fun at people and their beliefs? I think we do. Used effectively, satire can challenge and expose the abuse of power in society. Sometimes its the only thing that can. Do people have a right to be offended? Of course they do, and by discussing what we find offensive we can understand each others' point of view. But maybe I'm trying to be too deep here, so lets lighten the tone.

Last night, I was in tears of laughter watching Benidorm. Some of it isn't remotely funny to me, but watching the character of Joyce, played by the superb actress Sherrie Hewson, succomb to an overdose of Botox made me laugh out loud. 

But humour is so selective. We all laugh at different things. Some people don't even like Fawlty Towers.

This week's blip challenge is 'humour' and I've been struggling to think how to illustrate it without risking offence. My son and his size 11 feet helped me with this. After all, who doesn't like a bit of slapstick?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.