People on a Bridge

By zerohour

Catching Up

... on Polish journalism.

Dziadek Wojtek sends me selected articles by mail; this is the batch received today. I really enjoy them, for a few reasons. Firstly, he goes through the trouble of selecting, copying, and mailing them, which reminds me of my beloved Dziadek Mikolaj, thoughtfully and lovingly sending Polish newspapers to my uncle in Germany.  Secondly, it keeps me in touch with what are the "hot" topics in Poland today. Lastly, it keeps me in constant touch with the fast-evolving Polish language. It is evolving, let me tell you. A lot of it is based on the "hot" content; for example, a lot of computer vocabulary is translated verbatim from English, which gives me trouble to recognize in Polish, but makes sense once I translate it back into English. Another example, is a concept of "mowca", or a public speaker. To me, mowca is an orator, a Greek or Roman philosopher speaking in the public square. However, I am very familiar with an institution of a speaker (motivational, or what have you). Funny how it all changes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.