It's not so grim up North

By Richy

Fancy a kick about?

Fancy a kick about indeed! Graham the father of the family that live behind our house mentioned 'over the fence' (not covert!!) that a few of the lads who play in Moggills over 35 team were having said kick about this morning (Sunday). At the time of asking we were having a BBQ and as Chef d'bbq I had drunk a couple of glasses of lubricant and of course said......that would be great! Had he told me it would be an English Premiership training session followed by a 6 a side match I may have said "I'll come and watch!!!" We were at the local football club for 7.30 am at which point it was a  horribly painful  comfortable 27 deg centigrade! Two full laps around the entire football playing area and cricket pitches had everyone blowing pretty hard. I felt better than I had thought I would, "kick about now then?" I asked, "not quite mate"............40 mins later after bleep style tests, running around cones and various other stretching exercises we were ready for vomiting and passing out,  a game! Great......
I haven't played for around 12 years and chased my tail, missed two goals which were applauded for what they were in a sympathetic manner then went in goal for pretty much the remainder of the game and let about three in! 8.45am saw us done and dusted.
Do you know what, I'm going back next week because as I sit here and write this I know it did me some good, I met some great people and I kind of enjoyed pushing myself.
  This all on the back of having some corporate tickets via a friend to see the Socceroos lose to The Korean Republic! The atmosphere was great, opposing fans mixed together and beer flowed on the terraces amongst the supporters! The game was poor but the evening with new friends was great! Hope you're all enjoying your weekend.
Too hot to venture anywhere far today, 39oC this avo and the humidity makes it feel like 45oC.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.