Sewingday with tiny stitches with linen thread :)

Here is a part of my shirt - all stitches are done with hand - not sewing machine at all. This is The lower part (alanen - don't know word for it in english ) and it is a part of the shirt. This part is under the skirt and others can't see it :)

I have used really old material in this project. My Grandma (born 1904) has weaved it herself before She had married and it is real and finest linen she and her family had ever found in these times. (Old times it was usual to do so called bottom drawer and fill it with a masterpiece of Your skills, that the Husband really knows that You can do something with Your hands). Here is her namealphabets AM (Anna Mattila). She married a farmer Viljo Putta 1925 and this material must be quite old - nearly 100 years old !

I use really valuable material. I only want to keep Her memory and skills in my mind and this is the best place to keep it safe.

You can see more about this project in my webpages under Jurva-projekti. Unfortunately they are in finnish, but there is some pictures also

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.