Aperture on Life

By SheenaghMclaren

Old Litter

I can't condone litter in any form but when I saw this I was fooled for a moment into thinking that the old bottle I found in the undergrowth was a relic from the past.  Never the less, it's not new and has been hiding for some time.

Humans have always created rubbish and have had to dispose of it.  It's really not that long since there was no such thing as a rubbish collection, especially in rural areas.  There was a midden, or several, near to every house which filled with anything from the fire ash, scrap glass and metal to the contents of the commodes.  Some of the pits can be centuries old, others date back to much more recent times.  

I know a number of people who find the old bottle dumps and carefully dig them out in the search for antiques, some of which can be quite valuable,   I personally limit my searches to under old hedges and collect some that I find in the middle of old woods.  I won't be leaving a large inheritance for anyone but, some are beautiful show pieces none the less and I find the history of old glass and pottery quite fascinating. Far better than a crumpled plastic bottle or a discarded aluminium can. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.