It's a baldy bald life!

By DrK

Roger Hammond

What a cool day. We ran the British Cycling coaching conference in Birmingham today. I can't take much credit for it as I've not been too involved but it was a really successful day.

I got to play with my camera loads and used a big flash for the first time.Some great pictures which I'll add a link later for. I picked this one, of ex-pro Roger Hammond simply because his presentation was so good. Hammond has been junior world champion at cyclo-cross, won the road Nationals a few times and come 3rd and 4th in Paris-Roubaix.....the most famous single day classic race in cycling.

He talked frankly about how doping in the sport has impacted negatively on him, how he shared a room with Cav and many more things. He also talked how it tough retiring and not knowing what to do next....and how we as an organisation should think about implementing programmes to support other riders in such circumstances. Awesome and emotional stuff! Chapeau!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.