fototherapy

By GirlKojak

Ugly Ducklings

I have agonised over my choice today! It has actually been difficult to choose a picture to blip every day since I joined, but I've been going through today's shots over and over for 2 hours! Well, in the end I just have to plump for one and hope for the best.

I live in Durham, and my sister lives in Edinburgh. We have started an annual tradition of meeting up for day half way between (we do meet up at other times, too!), so today we met in Alnmouth, Northumberland. After the essential 'ooh's and 'ah's at the stunning views of the sea, we went on to Howick Hall Gardens, Howick Hall being the home of Earl Grey of the tea fame.

We wandered through the grounds for nearly three hours, and could have stayed for longer. I have never seen such an array of colour in spring in England. There were some more formal gardens, but the majority were a jumble of colour amongst woodland, streams and ponds. And there was so much wildlife too.

In addition to the beach shots I already had, I managed to photograph flowers of every hue, ferns, trees, a rather beautiful young dear, ducks, coots, and probably about fifty shots of this dear little family. I have some terribly elegant shots of the cygnets clustered together, neatly swimming behind their mum, but I chose this more playful shot to blip. We had been watching them for about 20mins before mum would allow her brood anywhere near us, but they obligingly came over to greet us, after which mum was happy to let them play at ease.

There were actually nine cygnets in total, but when I took this one had chosen to hang back with dad and show off just in front of us. I suspect he is the one who is most often in trouble!

I can't quite believe I haven't mentioned it already but we actually had sunshine and warmth! So all in all it was a wonderful day. It reminded me how much beauty their is on my doorstep, which I really don't appreciate enough. And you have my permission to remind me of this when I'm moaning!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.