Absences

Apologies for mine. I finally got round to some of the work I've been putting off so I am barely here.

Edit, 9 hours later – When I wrote this title last night I didn’t know why it had come to mind. I was trying to get an image of one cyclist, like this, and one person walking into the tunnel, but all my attempts gave me either one or the other, not both. So that was a sort of absence. I also knew that there would be no trains on the tracks because of engineering works, but that was a bit tenuous.
 
Now, Monday morning, I know what my mind was doing.
 
Last July our daughter moved out of home. The same weekend, our son’s girlfriend moved in. As a result our son has been around more in the last few months than in the many years since he moved out.
 
Yesterday – the day of this image – our son helped his girlfriend move out. This morning when I went to the shed for my bike it wasn’t in a great tangle of others, it was tidily on its own. And I realised not only where my mind had got that title, but also why it wanted two people moving out of my image.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.