Rollercoaster day

Mr M and I started out early this morning, heading to Bethlehem to have brunch with my parents.  In our area, it was cold, but there was no precipitation.  About 2/3 into the 2 1/2 hour drive, we encountered fog and I was getting weather alerts on my phone warning of freezing rain and icy road surfaces.  At that point I also started communicating with my sister by text because she and her husband were also planning to attend the brunch, and they live much closer.  According to her, there were icy roads everywhere and also accidents occurring all over the place.  As Mr M and I progressed, we hit rain, but still no ice.  We were now on an interstate highway and all of a sudden, cars in front of us were swerving, there were at least 5 cars and a tractor trailer truck scattered around the shoulder of the highway, and Mr M noticed swerving cars behind us.  We got off the road onto the shoulder and took a moment to assess the situation.  We were fortunate not to have hit anyone or get hit by anyone.  As we sat on the shoulder, traffic continued to move slowly along the highway.  So we gathered our nerves and proceeded.  Not far down the highway, it seems that the icy conditions disappeared.  The rain continued and we drove slower than we normally would have, and we reached Bethlehem without any further incident.  The brunch was lovely and delicious and we spent a very nice day with my parents.  The trip home was uneventful also.  

Riley was with us in the truck and he slept through everything.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.