New Year, New Life

By jenpedler

Line-up

Gulls again but this time at the Heath - Highgate No. 1 Pond, the bottom pond of the six that make up the Highgate chain.
I walked along and took photos of them all. So many birds: gulls and ducks on this pond, cormorants on the men's bathing pond, ducks - tufted and mallard among others (must get the bird book out!) - the pair of swans I was photographing last week, a pair of Egyptian geese, coots and moorhens on the model boating pond (the middle of the chain and the one that will be  most affected by the work). A couple of parakeets flew overhead but it's the water birds I feel for the most - their world is about to be turned upside down.
Thin film of ice and no birds on the bird sanctuary pond, a couple of women leaving the women's swimming pond as it was closing, ice on the top, stock pond.
Muddy on the way back across the field behind the women's pond but fortunately it was a bit frozen so I didn't sink in as much as I might have done.
I can't believe that all this tranquility is about to be shattered.  I'm documenting the Heath as much as possible this month. More photos here.
I have an awful sense of foreboding about this work.  I hope it will not turn out to be the disaster that many are predicting.
Details of the objections including a map showing the vast swathes of the Heath that will be affected.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.