Hear No Evil

I took my camera bag to work with me today, just in case I managed to get out at lunchtime. I didn't. Plus I've left it at work under my desk.
I am therefore a bit stumped this evening, so using my camera phone,  I've taken a picture of one of the items in my "favourites collection" which is in my "she cave".
As you can see, it is the three wise monkeys. What you can't see is that it is only about 2 inches tall, and you may not know that it is called a netsuke.  I don't know if this one is an original or a fake, but that does not detract from its value to me. It's one of the first things that our son bought for me as a gift when he went to live in Taiwan.
A netsuke (pronounced "netski") is a miniature carving, often in ivory or wood, and originated in Japan where they were used as a means of attaching a container (called a sagemono) to the belt (obi) worn around a kimono. 
They always have two holes in the base where the cord ran through. This one is very ornate if you turn it over, as the little toes of the monkeys have all been carved, and in the larger monkey's bum cheeks are the two holes for the cord.
Some people are avid collectors of these - it's useful that they are so small. My late sister-in-law had about 10 of them, mainly with mice carved on them, and they were really beautiful.
I've also noticed that it could do with a good dusting, but you don't really see that with the naked eye as it's so small.
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.