Frozen Loch Fyne

I was in Taynuilt and Oban for much of the day and on my trip there and back the temperature varied between -6 and +1.   The latter was only in Oban itself and for most of the time , in bright sunshine, the variation was much smaller , with the thermometer hovering around -3.   

As I came round the end of Loch Fyne this morning I noticed a lot of ice on the loch but the road is a bad one and there were also re-surfacing works under way so I struggled to find somewhere to stop to take a picture.   I finally got this one waiting in a traffic queue so it is not as good as I wanted but the ice coverage is absolutely clear.   The steam on the other side comes from the fish farm base at Cairndow. 

There is a scene in Neil Munro's "John Splendid"  in which the people of Inveraray go out onto the ice covered loch to get away from the sacking of the town.   The ice wasn't that thick today , nor was it down as far as Inveraray, but the story was just that bit more believable this morning than I have ever felt it to be before.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.