A Little Pic Me Up

By GarethOates

Water Droplet

Experimenting with my off-camera flash triggers and Controller (Yongnuo YN-622N + YN622-N TX) today and freezing motion using flash (SB-700).  I had to borrow a macro lens in order to get close enough to the action for this shot, so thanks to Neale and James for lending me their 90mm tamron lens again, seriously considering the purchase of some extension tubes now so I can use my own lenses next time.

This was my first attempt at a photo like this.  It was really difficult not having a consistent location of where the droplets would land.  Definitely need to hook up a rig of some kind to make the location of the droplets less variable and to increase chances of collision.  The blue food colouring in the water helped bring out some colour and make it more interesting.  The red gel on my flash didn't really mix well with the blue so I had to abandon it in the end.

Not bad for a first attempt and plenty room for improvement I think.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.