wait just one more shot

By Susanbmathew

Mono Monday middle

Thanks Skeena for hosting.
This is an old picture of myself between my sisters Laurie and Dianne.
I may have swallowed a quarter. I don't know. There is obviously a reason why they are torturing me.
I can remember the day this was taken. We took turns being turned upside down There are photos of all of us doing this. It was the fall. I must have come home from school and just put on pants under my dress. Pants (or trousers for everyone outside of the States) were not allowed in school.
We had a weeping willow tree and a sugar maple tree in the front yard. We used to rake the leaves into squares and pretend they were rooms of a house. I am quite sure this was what we are doing. My sisters and I stayed out every day until dinner time. In the winter I remember our mittens (made by our grandmother) had big chunks of snow on them. When we went inside for dinner, The windows would be steamed up from cooking and we would put our mittens on the furnace grates. When I close my eyes I can remember the smell of those wool mittens. They smell like my childhood.
That's what this picture reminded of.
I live in the house of my childhood now. Last night I washed my dad's wool socks and some sweaters and hung them on the drying rack. As they dried, the smell of wet wool (maybe the lanolin?) brought me back. I remembered this photograph. I carried it for years. Well loved, like the memories it brought back.
By the way, I am willing to bet that this was (and will be) the last time I stood on my head.

Ok that's my trip down memory lane for tonight! So goodnight to the north and G'day to Downunder.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.