Times Of My Life

By CarolB

Little Bit of First Aid

I am soooooo tired today.  I got home from the concert about quarter past midnight.  Abi and I really enjoyed it, but unfortunately we had standing tickets - which I did not realise - so I wore high heeled boots.  Ooyah! Such sore feet. 

However, the worst pain I endured was the eejit standing just behind me to my right, who insisted in singing (very loudly) every single word of every single song - badly.  While fanning herself furiously with a large paper Spanish-holiday type of fan ...................

Was I annoyed because it was causing my hair to whip about like a force 10 gale? Was I annoyed because her handbag kept swinging into my back?  Was I annoyed because it made a noisy, paper crinkly kind of noise?  Yes - ALL of the above.  But mostly I was very annoyed when the girls sang a beautiful acoustic number called Ghost Town, with no microphone or sound enhancement of any kind.  And all the way through it I could hear (and so could almost everyone else, because otherwise you could hear a pin drop)'whp-whp-whp-whp'!

We slipped out a couple of numbers before the end to beat the rush to the coats, and then we grabbed a taxi to where I had parked at Abi's old house.  So funny to be parked outside wonderful Chancelot Terrace, and not be able to pop up to No. 10 for a wee coffee or glass of vino. 

I drove beloved dochter home to Burntie, and then took myself home carefully and slowly (roads were sparkling with frost). 

Had to be up early this morning as I was going to Dundee for a meeting, which I did get to on time, but only after getting lost twice, and having people hooting at me for being in the wrong lane!

I just brought my CD back in from the car to listen to while I munch my sandwich. 

Tonight I'm going to watch last night's Broadchurch, and then head off for an early bed - I'm shattered. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.