Year 4

George Harrison - Wah Wah

This is my 4th year doing Blipfoto. It's a Blip Birthday. It's ridiculous how much time has passed and how much time I've spent taking photos. If anything, it's to try and remember and never to forget what has been done. I remember starting Blipfoto, thanks to close friends, and publishing one of my first few entries at a friend's house to whom I no longer see anymore. Featured in the photo is a candle that was given to me by that same person, the final one.

The table was given to me by another special person to whom I will no longer see but had met under such electric conditions. I don't know how it came to be and why it happened, but it was so strong. They are living a life somewhere else and being free.

The coaster you see was a souvenir given on a tour with one of my best travel companions; you know who you are. I will never lose it as I hope never to lose you.

My greed gets the better of me and I hold so many remnants of the past so closely it can border on insanity. But when at last breath it is rendered purely meaningless. Why hold on? Really, why? Yet I religiously continue to do Blipfoto to mark my days even though it will never change the world or be any more remarkable than the next person's memories and experience. Why?

Why torture myself being drowned in the past when it has no relevance past death? It's perhaps the hope of worth and meaning of the powers that have created the mind and the deep emotions of feeling. Perhaps it's the reason why Facebook is so popular, because every individual who uses it feels like their life is being chronicled and therefore a part of some bizarre sense of concrete history. Of the thousands that perished under Hannibal's crossing (amongst other historic events), how do their lives have less relevance than ours, ie. this generation?

This is going to sound extremely pretentious, but of all that is the human cataloging of time, is it truly relevant? So many stupid questions. Maybe it's a program or an innate virus in us all, but I still burn and hope; hope to stretch beyond time and the very fibers of my flesh and bone. Through children, through art, through anything that can be passed on for the sake of.... I dunno.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.