Great Spotted Woodpecker

It is not often that a woodpecker deigns to visit our bird feeding station but when it happens I go flying out of the living room into the study to pick up my camera hopefully with a telephoto lens already attached. Usually by the time I have reappeared the bird has already flown off but today it lingered, mainly behinds the peanut feeder so I was not able to get a clear shot but then it rested on a nearby tree long enough for me to get an unencumbered view. That's why you've got two for the price of one as it is a rare visitor and their plumage is just so distinct and flamboyant. This, I am pretty sure, is a female as it does not have the red plumage on its crown, which distinguishes the male. Hopefully one day I will get one when it is bright and sunny and I am not having to shoot underexposed at high ISO at maximum aperture just to get a a half decent capture.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.