Just trying to survive

By NovaLovesFrogs

Lightning Struck

This sad, heartbroken, but beautiful kitten caught my eye at Petsmart. I'd just had a fight with my family up in Missouri over custody of Tuxie. They told me that no, I couldn't have him back, but they would pay the adoption fees for us to adopt a new cat to be Cosmo's companion.

I was angry, and deadset against giving in. But I also felt like it was hopeless, and I would never get Tuxie back.

Then I saw this kitten, and I had to meet him. B didn't want to meet him. Didn't want to fall in love with him. Didn't want to give into the pressure from my family to give up our Tuxie and get a new cat.

But when this heartbroken little soul was taken out of the display cage and realized that we were there to meet him and not one of the other kittens, he immediately sprang to life.

He climbed up B's leg, then torso, then perched up on B's shoulder. He was very affectionate, and extremely excited that we were there to meet him.

We rushed home to get Cosmo, then took Cosmo back to meet the kitten. The kitten was a little too active for Cosmo, but he was also very excited that not only did we come back, but we came back with a new friend.

Cosmo tolerated being crawled all over and being chewed on. While you could see him get annoyed after a bit, he never lashed out at the kitten, and the kitten adored him.

Match made in heaven.

We filled out the adoption forms right then and there.

His name was Wrangler.

We discussed possible names, and decided to name him Nova, to go along with Cosmo. We also decided then that we'd keep an astronomy and astrology theme for pet names from then on out. (Tuxie's unofficial name is Orion.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.