Transferred backblip

My Dad said something yesterday which had me thinking... and he's right. 
He said that Spain was always my husband's country, not mine...
It was his idea... understandably as it was for his health
He did most of the property searching - I was at work
I was never on the hire car insurance, which would have helped me to get used to driving over there
He found our house while I was in the UK so not a joint discovery
He began moving stuff out there two years before official emigration
He spent more time out there than in the UK - I was still working
He made it his own
He made most of the decisions, I wasn't there
I was just a passenger
Metaphorically and actually
I was along for the ride...
But it was his ride.
Spain was always my husband's country.  
Not mine.

This is a transferred entry from my other journal and so I've copied the comments too.

blast

Very perceptive, your dad.

kendallishere

How wonderful to have a dad who understands so deeply and who reflects honestly what he understands.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.