TheWayfaringTree

By FergInCasentino

Sea Lane

A bone numbing day with leaden grey skies brightening slightly in later afternoon. Dentist and the usual ticking off by the hygienist. Booked in for a return visit on Friday 13th Feb. Took a few snaps on the Walmer shingle where a pink/muted orange sky and cold North Sea  against the shingle bank almost gained blip status.

Took out the chain saw later and garbed in the safety gear cut up more logs for next winter. Took a late rapid walk down to the Bay as the light began to fade and took more shots of the avenue of trees. It really needed a tripod but I was already running late for my daily call in on my 93 year old neighbour. 

I fiddled about with this blip to try and increase its overall brightness. I pushed the mid tones down, raised the high light tones and reduced the black output.

I'll put the original and processed shots  on my website.

The lane isn't called 'sea lane' although there is a 'Bay Hill' and Sea Street' but I like the echo with the  Dover Strait down at the bay and its choked shipping lanes. Dover today also snarled up with thousands of lorries waiting to get on the ferries as one of the Channel Tunnels is out of action. Trucks stacked on the M20 back to Ashford.

And I got to choose the thumbnail view for the first time!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.