gennepher

By gennepher

A long day...

A long day today. I went to get the smartphone I had ordered a few days ago. I still use a very basic old fashioned textphone, but as I am making more texts and receiving a lot more I thought it was time I entered this century...

The guy the other day offered some data plans. Anyway, today when I went this new guy offered something a bit different. Now, because I am deaf, I mostly lipread. It is okay lipreading someone I know because that is easier as I generally know what they will be talking about. But someone who is firing me a lot of new information about a device and I am trying to understand, and then comes up with new permutations of different data plans when I thought it was worked out, my brain went into overload. I was trying to work out which was the best, and also if I cancelled the plan on the iPad I have and switched to...and so on...my brain was multitasking beyond itself...something that has never happened before.

I wasn't receiving any information from lipreading the guy by this time. My brain was inputting gobbledegook from him. This has never ever happened to me before...yes, I can't always lipread people, that happens many a time, especially with strangers and I have no idea what they are saying, but this was the first time my brain was inputting something totally bananas from someone.

The guy took one look at my face. He stopped talking. I have no idea what I looked like. He put his hand up. And left by a door, then came back with a glass of water.

He knew I was deaf and lipreading...

A few moments later I was okay. But he said he wasn't going to talk again until I looked okay. He said he realised that I was working hard lipreading, and working out and comparing plans in my head, and that I'd had an overload of information.

Actually I still have a headache tonight. The smartphone is in the front room putting itself to rights and uploading apps etc. I am dying to play with it, but I think I need a rest from technology and thinking...for a few hours.

I was photographing these things with lights in them before I went into the phone shop. I had an idea I might forget about photographs later in the day...and I did forget...I suppose they are seats for children.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.