Looking forward to Thursdays.

I have been inspecting a nursing home and have been indoors for 10 hours. I had a wee moment outside and this was the view away from the buildings.
Not an easy day. It is distressing to see how difficult life is for people living with dementia and those who are paid to care in very challenging circumstances.

I appreciated the time I spent with a dear person who will be 102 next month . She has a beautiful face and her smile reaches out from the depths of her self. She sits with her kindle reading as her mobility is limited. I asked her how she coped with the levels of confusion and distress she sees round about her and she said that she looks forward to Thursdays as her daughter takes her home for the afternoon . "I can get out to see the mountains and the sky . I am so fortunate . Imagine not being able to get our at all! I couldn't bear that "
She is an inspiring lovely soul managing to hold tight to her own identity .
Imagine .
It is so sad and I can't bear to see it, though I see it all the time in the daily round of work life.

Surely we can do better than this for our older people in Scotland?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.