Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Clams and Bling!

This had to be my blip today ... I just love these crazy looking birds, AND this is the first time I've seen a banded American Oystercatcher!  I've reported it on the oystercatcher banding website and will hopefully hear back from them with a little history about where "my" bird is from and where it's been previously seen.  Although oystercatchers are not endangered, they are a species of concern as they continue to lose breeding habitat.  

Aside from the clam eating, bling-wearing oystercatcher, the rest of my morning at Fort DeSoto was equally delightful.  I managed to see 43 different species of birds and took a little over 300 photos.  Gotta get my FL "bird fix" in before we head to Alabama tomorrow!  I have posted my nine favorite shots from today starting HERE on Flickr.  Warning:  fish have been eaten, and carried around the skies...and pelicans have been completely silly.  

We plan a very early departure tomorrow as the drive is about 11 hours (ugh).  We gain an hour traveling west, so we should get into Huntsville in time for dinner with my BIL and SIL tomorrow night.  Will be so good to see everyone.  

Given that tomorrow is a travel day, I'll have to come up with something on the fly for tomorrow's blip.  I'm pretty sure it won't be a bird or any other critter ...

TTFN
Debbi

Addendum: i have learned that this female oystercatcher was banded as a chick in 2007 in North Carolina. She has been reported on numerous occasions aince then in the general area of Ft. DeSoto.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.