Des Byrne

Des Byrne.... I didn't know him at all. I still don't. But I do know the kind of man he was after attending his funeral today. I did know his brother Noel and that's why I was there. Noel who survived the French Foreign Legion. Noel who broke down this morning. My friend Noel. The priest said the church seated six hundred and there was the same amount standing in the aisles. I think it was more like a thousand there. One thousand friends and family of a man who is obscure in the realm of fame and news worthiness. A man whose death will not be reported in the media. I listened to the stories of his wife, his son and his daughter also his grand children. From the alter Tom Duff spoke effortlessly and eloquently of his friend Des. He made us sad, he made us laugh and he brought Des back to life. He also made me wish I had known this man in life....Just saying

The Living Years

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.