Rebuilding

By RadioGirl

Flying Saucers?

I really didn't want to leave Mum on her own all day today when we'd only just had the funeral yesterday, but I haven't got any leave left because it was all used up (and more) when Dad was in hospital.  She was okay until she started looking through the little photo album I had put together containing pictures of Dad before his illness, and then she missed him terribly again and got really upset.  It's so hard to know that she is going through such indescribable grief, and yet I know there's just no way round it.

The day's work came and went, but my mind was elsewhere and I was still feeling all over the place emotionally after holding it together for the sake of dignity yesterday.  I had a little private weep on the train in, then took a deep breath before walking into Broadcasting House.

I commuted up from Essex to Liverpool Street station today, so that I could stay with Mum one more night tonight.  I've known the station since I was quite small, when Mum and Dad used to take us up to London for the shops and shows.  Like many of the London terminals, Liverpool Street has changed a great deal over the decades.  In the olden days it was all grime and British Rail sandwiches.  Today we are treated to a whole parade of shops, a variety of fast-food and coffee places, and gleaming escalators.  These "flying saucers" are hovering overhead an escalator travelling down into the station from street level.


I couldn't decide which photo to blip today, so here's a link to some delicious tulips which were given to Mum at the wake yesterday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.