a return

By winterwren

insomnia

i am an insomniac.  i spend many hours of many nights awake.  i have a very patient husband.  last night, having looked at my watch one too many times, i did what only a blipper would do.  i went and got my camera.  the highest iso, the lowest f-stop, the widest angle, unlimited time.  i had it all working in my favor.  then i lay down in bed, familiar grip in hand, rested the camera on my chest and pointed the lens to the ceiling.  what comfort.  when i was settled, i pressed the shutter release and started counting.  sometimes i counted to 50.  sometimes i counted to 500.  it didn't matter.  it wasn't about the photographs.  

after much counting, i found myself too tired to securely hold the camera.  i retrieved the lens cap from the sheets and lowered the camera to the floor beside me. i promptly fell asleep.

when i awoke later that morning, i downloaded the photos.  most were underexposed.  i did manage to salvage a few.  this shot is of the ceiling and where it meets a wall with a jog in it.  my guess is that the lightness on the right is starlight coming through a window.  

will this solve my insomnia again?  i don't know.  but i do know that i have a very understanding husband.  when he awoke the next morning, he asked, "were you taking pictures in bed last night, or did i just dream that?"  i smiled.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.