Hobbs's Run

By hobbs

Sun Pole

          There was a very dark sky brooding away in the east but there was also a full-on (but not especially exciting) sunset happening to the west behind me. This telegraph pole lit up handsomely in contrast to its background and I felt compelled to shoot it. Everything I did to further enhance the image tended to spoil what had originally been there and so I left it sooc in the end.
           I am now convinced that nothing I can do with grey framing mat enhancements will ultimately defeat Polaroid's relentless "torch in the face" white background - short of changes to this website which may allow users to choose their OWN custom edge to edge backgrounds ... like most serious photo display sites (such as "Smugmug") already do. I may try a few more drop shadows and such but I can't see them making much difference. Thank you to all of those kind people who have encouraged me in my experimentation.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.