BernardYoung

By BernardYoung

In Layman's Terms

I saw one of the super-rich talking on TV.
He said that if things don’t change he
could see a time when the poor
will come after him with pitchforks.


There’s an air of acceptance when he talks.
Like he’s got it coming and he knows why.


I’m poor compared to him.  A pauper,
a peasant, destitute (so is most of the world)
so I suppose I’d be one of them out to get him.


But to the struggling family or the poor
man in the street (I mean the super-poor
man in the street sleeping under cardboard)
maybe I
look a bit too rich as I pass by?


I, too, foresee a time of padlocks and bolts,
of battening down and Keep Out signs,
of electric fences and metal gates…


Then someone steals a pitchfork
and retaliates.


The Fall of Troy

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.