Leiflife

By Leiflife

The Feminine Form

My sculpture - shared a few blips back before firing - has emerged from the kiln. The color has intensified, and the glaze has a more subtle sheen that what I am used to. I like the more textural look very much. I intend to blog different views of the piece very soon.

This has been one of those weeks when each day that comes along takes you in different directions than you thought it would. The word might be "devoured". The days have seemed to be devoured since the sculpture emerged on Monday with great celebration. Kendall kindly shared those early moments with me. Bless you, darling friend..

So I found myself to be exhausted on this morning, not to mention allergies in full flow. And last week in a moment of unguarded enthusiasm, I consented to model for a photographer friend: Billy D. He would come at eleven, and I must figure out what to wear...way too aware of the few extra pounds. Actually, the last time I modeled/danced for Billy, I was ten pounds lighter. Oh dear... It would have to be black: Jersey skirt and top with tights. And a large scarf of purples, blues, and pinks to blur the edges.

Billy really is amazing at putting a woman at ease...at appreciating the deeper beauty that comes with age. Before half an hour I was moving to music against the huge paint-marked canvas that shows the history of the many paintings I have done on paper tacked to its surface.
I had a marvelous time playing with fabric...performing for the camera. The black went by the wayside. I was dancing and the cloth danced with me, loving my aged body as I am meant to do. He is gone now, and I am left with the best kind of tiredness and a lovely quiet joy...similar to the joy realized by completing the sculpture. One can celebrate the feminine form on many levels and in many ways. I have done this through art and through dance. I am still doing this through art and through dance.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.