JournoJan

By JanPatienceArt

Time for a close-up @ruth_lesley ?

A busy day in virtual media central...
This shows my friend Ruth Walker, a very stylish lady who wears many hats, including that of Editor-in-chief of online fashion website http://www.wecraveit.com, being interviewed by Tom Duncan.
Tom makes all the films for XpoNorth, a unique event in Scotland's annual cultural/creative calendar which sees folk working in craft, textiles, designer fashion, screen, broadcast, writing, publishing and music, converge in the Hjghland city of Inverness for two days in June. This year, the dates are Wednesday 10th & Thursday 11th June.
I am Mrs XpoNorth Commsperson.
Ruth and I worked together over a decade ago on a newspaper called Business am. It was the best job I ever had. Intelligent writing and a smart team behind it. Sadly, it only lasted for two years. Right newspaper. Wrong time.
Ruth came to last year's festival (then called goNORTH - now rebranded as XpoNorth) to help me with the press and social media. We worked hard but we had such FUN. It was so invigorating and liberating to be around so many creative souls; making connections and enjoying the music, film, fashion et al.
For a flavour, take a look at this film made by Tom: http://youtu.be/Tf7KnSTLYNk
Today's launch was held in Glasgow Art Club. It's the first time I've been in since the Charles Rennie Mackintosh frieze was restored in the long gallery and it looks just right. There was always something missing in that room but I didn't know what it was until I saw the frieze today.
I would've Blipped it but my shaky-handed iPhone pix didn't quite work.
PS. Wonderful two-song set by young Mull-based singer-songwriter, Sorren Maclean was icing on the cake.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.