Derwentwater Panorama

Again, looking full screen with a black background improves this.

Also backblipped this

What an amazing day! - I so wanted to spend all of it outside, but was manacled to the office desk writing! Did fail to resist temptation at lunchtime and slipped out the the road on the western side of Derwentwater to get some pics. I think I spent 40 minutes trying to find somewhere to put the car and 20 minutes photographing. 

The fact that it was calm, there were wonderful clouds and still snow on Skiddaw and Blencathra in the background - I could have stayed out for hours. It took a while to find this spot - where the reflections of the background seem to fit well with the foreground trees. 

The shot was taken as a 6-shot panorama using a 70mm lens in the portrait position. It's given me a file of 14,000 pixels wide, so if I print at 240 ppi, I can do a print six feet long!

0.45 hard-edged ND grad helped keep detail in the sky, and maintain detail in the foreground trees.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.