foxfollower

By foxfollower

Lunch with Dizzy

My walk today took me up to Hughenden Manor, as it often does. The cafe was closed but they were serving light lunches in Dizzy's Tearoom, so I stopped there for soup and sandwich while I looked at the Punch cartoons on the walls and the portrait of the man himself.
Whether or not you agree with his politics, I feel there's a lot to admire about Disraeli. He overcame prejudice about his Jewish origins to 'climb to the top of the greasy pole', as he put it. He was a one-nation Tory who was acutely conscious of the divisions in his society and the need to bridge them. And he was a witty, intelligent and perceptive commentator on the world he lived in, who said amongst other things: 'Silence is the mother of truth.'

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.