Louwisdom

By Louwisdom

Pearl shell

Pre house cleaning blip :)

This pearl shell was given to me by a family who lived in Broome, Australia, a very beautiful town on the far north west coast full of red rocks, turquoise waters and white beaches built on the pearl industry. I camped in their garden for 3 weeks and worked every morning one to one with their disabled teenager whilst his regular worker was on holiday I think. I got the job because my Scottish accent attracted attention (I had relevant experience too) in the local library where I was enjoying the air con and got chatting to his mum who offered me the work :)

As well as the beautiful spots like cable beach and the best sunset I also remember a beautiful graveyard full of headstones carved with Japanese characters - pearl divers who had sought their fortune.

It's now in our bathroom in Edinburgh and needs dusting.

Happy friday

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.