my little eye

By clarebeme

Tate Modern

Amazing day with my bestie down from Leamington Spa for the day. Nourishing and long overdue.

We saw a fantastic photography exhibition 'Conflict, Time, Photography' or 'After the Conflict' - a mixed show based on photographs taken after various conflicts during the last century, everything from Dresden to Afghanistan and showing the impact on the land and communities, commemorating the dead and reflecting on the horrors. Photos in the first room were taken seconds after whichever 'incident', the last were taken 99 years later. They were equally poignant and all worked together brilliantly as you walked through time and a history of these horrendous man made disasters.

The real artistry was in the curation; the bringing together of all these disparate works on the same subject, over a whole century and from all over the world. Many pieces were by little known photographers and perhaps not all were 'great' in their own right but in the company of each other they were very powerful.

It was fascinating to see so many perspectives on one 'subject' - I could see the artists minds at work and came back full of stories about individual pieces of work. Really worth seeing.

Also popped in to Polke but only had 15 minutes before I had to leave for school pick-up. I could/should've stayed a lot longer. Great - I could see when the acid kicked in!

And for once I even had a choice of pictures for blip - still not sure whether I should've gone for this or that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.