Capturing the Everyday

By JulianBuchanan

Harrier Hawk

This Harrier Hawk patrol’s up and down the river early evening each day on often goes past our house. I never catch him because he glides over ever so quickly, but Today I manages to catch him. The focus could be better but it certainly gives you a sense of his size, beauty and authority as he scans the floor for his evening meal.

We went to the Waikanae Garden Trail today and I took lots of lovely photos That I intended to use, but the Hawk made a surprise late appearance and stole the show!

BTW today I successfully completed the 5 day juice fast. During those five days I consumed most of whats on this list and absolutely nothing else apart from loads of water.
I found it surprisingly easy, never once felt hungry and generally felt invigorated, upbeat and well. Losing weight wasn’t the main aim - the main purpose was to give my body a break from eating lots of stuff which can’t really be classified as food (alcohol, caffeine, E numbers, colourings, chemicals) and to feast on raw veg, fruit and lots of coconut water - but I lost 7lb (and I need to lose weight!), and it also gave my stomach, intestine and bowel a relative rest. I think I gave my liver and kidneys a great holiday too, as they only had to deal with fruit and veg. The other bonus is that it gives a sense of self control that make you feel good about yourself, and now eating I am feeling a little different about chocolate, alcohol, sweets and other non foods.
The downside was the preparation of food, juicing, cleaning the juicer, made more work by the sheer volume of fruit and veg. It’s not cheap either if you buy organic which is recommended. I did wake up on two mornings will light headaches which soon passed, and it changed the toilet routine a fair bit! By Day 5 I was quite bored with the juice and the hassle, and I never did really enjoy those green juices.
Overall, I’m amazed and convinced of the benefits, and I’ll definitely do it again (maybe two or three times a year) and would recommend it. Next time I do five days I’ll add some extra natural protein. I think too I’ll also replace some ad hoc meals with juicing quite regularly. grin emoticon

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.