Memories4Me

By Memories4Me

Ollie returns!

Dear Diary,

I just had to post this second photograph of Ollie, who came back the next day and sat in the crab apple tree this time.  What a difference a day can make as far as lighting goes.  This time, the late afternoon light simply illuminated him and the branches frame his face beautifully.  Yesterday he was in shadow and so his color wasn't as lovely.  Today I can appreciate his markings so much more.

I must say, as others commented yesterday, that I am so fearful for Gaylord and Rudy but I am enraptured with this noble creature that has decided to grace me with his presence.  It would be better if Ollie was a vegetarian but that is not the way of Nature and I must let it work itself out.  Perhaps he will give up daily visits and go elsewhere to hunt but for  now I am thankful for the opportunity to observe this beautiful creature close up.

“Nature does not ask your permission, she has nothing to do with your wishes, and whether you like her laws or dislike them, you are bound to accept her as she is, and consequently all her conclusions."

- Fyodor Dostoyevsky, Notes from Underground

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.