Was It Really So Long Ago

By LincolnGreen

Poppies

A few days ago, I blipped the local paper showing the articles about Tesco and their cancellation of plans to build a new store in our small local town of Manningtree. It gave me the idea of dropping by to blip the site in question. Here is the old petrol station, latterly the offices of haulage company RT Stewart and now vacant.

Back in July last year, local artist Andy Howell started to paint a number of the boarded up windows. The project was organised by local councillor Kerry King, with the intention to brighten up the abandoned buildings until building work started. The theme of poppies was chosen appropriately enough to coincide with the WW1 centenary.

I like them and as far as I can tell they've gone down well with most of the locals.

I hope you like it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.