Beryl

Today is my sister Beryl’s birthday.  These are a couple of shots from the family album.  The pretty one in the middle is me.

Beryl and I used to have a formal photo taken by a professional photographer in Hull once a year. I still have a few of them, the earliest being of me as a baby. This must have been a bit later because Beryl is in her school uniform.  In the days when owning a camera was not commonplace professional snappers used to prowl the front at seaside resorts.  I’m guessing the top left is one of those.

 It seems like there’s something of a little pride in the bottom photo.  Both Beryl and I in our uniforms, hers of the RAF and me in my secondary school gear, I guess kids don’t wear school scarves anymore?  (Get the Beatles haircut!)

 In other news: I’ve been in the kitchen for a chunk of today preparing food for tomorrow’s lunch when we have friends coming.  I find that easier than getting everything ready on the same day.  I made a chestnut and mushroom loaf and the stuffing for stuffed red onions, a dish I haven’t tried before so results should be interesting.

This evening we’re out for a meal with our ex-neighbours.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.