Cosmosellie

By cosmosellie

The great hall- Washington Old Hall

Visited this National Trust property and this is the great hall. At the end of the room through the arches is the kitchen. It is the ancestral home of George Washington. His ancestors lived here about 20 generations before he was born. A lot of the fittings are from other parts of the country as at one stage it was nearly derelict. However it has been tastefully incorporated into the original building so definitely worth a visit. It was very dim in the room.
I like the halberd standing against the wall. It is a weapon of the 15th and 16th centuries having an axlike blade and a steel spike mounted on the end of a long shaft. How do I know this - lego knights of course, they all have one.

Ps I was thrilled to be featured on the spotlight page yesterday for the blue tit feeding her chick. I never expected to be featured in the spotlight EVER so it was a real shock to read it in my notifications. Thank you all for looking and giving me so many stars.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.