We are Sailing

I managed to shake off some of my recent lethargy today - a little bit of sunshine helped - and I went down to the river in my ongoing quest for that perfect Dipper shot. I've found a spot that seems well-frequented, has a couple of good perching rocks, good access to the river bank, and generally good light. What I hadn't reckoned with today (although I should have) was the torrential flow of meltwater from the recent snow. Neither had this pair of Goosander - on my way out, I saw them swept by over a weir - just a blur, but when I went back they had found a more sheltered spot and were biding their time. 
I did get to see a Dipper, but it didn't stay long on the nearby rock but disappeared quite quickly to the far side of a small island where it was able to feed from the shallower water.
I also saw some fungal treats, but I can be much more confident that they will be around for a bit longer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.