Gull Party

Pretty much seagulls are taken for granted, I think. They can be found all over the planet and we typically view them as greedy, pushy, aggressive, noisy birds. Granted, they probably are all of that and more. They scavenge scraps of food dropped by us, they steal from other birds...they are survivors. Some folks enjoy feeding the gulls and the ducks who reside around our catchment ponds. They bring them stale, very stale bread and teach their children to toss the slices and loaves high into the air to watch the gulls swoop and dive for the the handouts. I have to admit...it's quite a show. I'm still working through in my own head though, the 'correctness' of these almost daily feeding rituals. The gulls seem to enjoy the competition, at least it seems that way, and the ducks wait under them for whatever drops ground-ward. Lately, a small flock of Ibis have been joining in the feast. So today my 'study' is of gulls. For a few more shots...just fly over HERE to my Flickr page. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.