Rainbow over Outer Holm

I could hear the hail and rain lashing against the window during the night so decided that a long day out would not be a good idea, but in the morning it looked more reasonable than expected. The weather forecast said that wintry showers would be moving through so I decided I would go to Stromness and walk along the shore as there is often the chance of finding shelter. So that's what I did. I was glad I did as the curtains of rain and hail shot through with rays of sunlight were beautiful. The colours of the sea were gorgeous too...any number of shades of jade green to steel blues and greys. Birds were a bit reluctant to brave the elements but included goldeneye, gannet, greylags, long-tailed duck, black guillemot, eider, red-throated diver, about 75 ringed plover, dunlin, sanderling and purple sandpiper. See more here https://www.flickr.com/photos/octobermoth/. This shot was taken as I walked back into Stromness.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.