The Little Lyle Files

By kevinwatters

Causing a Storm

I don’t like to get political on this forum but I’ve decided to that, short of campaigning for this year’s general election, I’ll dip my toe in the water on the thorny subject of Cadbury Creme Eggs.

I am not going to touch on the question of how ridiculously soon after Christmas they appeared on the shelves (oh I just did!) and neither am I interested in how you eat yours.  I’m not even going to comment too much on the advert where a rather creepy, slimy guy is sweet talking a Creme Egg in a way that would make Joey from Friends blush.

The topic of today’s blip is the furore that has been stirred up on Facebook about the fact that Cadbury have allegedly changed the chocolate (no longer Dairy Milk they say) and the recipe for the Creme Egg.  Highly respected friends have joined the boycott of the Creme Egg and egged me on to do the same (did you see what I did there?).  I was outraged to learn of the erosion of yet another bit of British life at the hands of the mighty US, home of the parent company who own Cadbury, and was more than happy to stick two British fingers up at them to give a clear message to keep their mitts off our Creme Eggs and restore them to their former glory.  

Consequently, since they appeared prematurely on the shelves on Boxing Day (sorry I wasn’t going to talk about that was I?) I have refused to buy any of these pretenders to the Creme Egg throne.  Power to the people.

The other day, Mrs W broke the boycott (in fairness, I doubt she was ever aware of it) and bought some Creme Eggs and, dear reader, to my eternal shame, temptation got the better of me this afternoon as I sought the replacement of calories lost through tidying the garage and, in a moment of weakness, I succumbed to the lure of the egg.

Couldn’t tell the difference.  Still hideously sweet and chocolaty so I don’t know what the fuss is about.  

The boycott is off.  Bring on Easter.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.