RSPB Birdwatch Day

In between everything else I spent an hour in the afternoon trying to record the number of birds in the garden.  It's always something of a frustrating activity as the birds I know to make regular visits often don't turn up on cue :(    One visitor that I did see was a Great Spotted Woodpecker which briefly landed on one of the Silver Birch trees.  At one time we saw them regularly on the peanuts but not for several years now.  The collared doves didn't turn up either, nor the wren.  One thing that surprised me was that I didn't see a Dunnock creeping around either.  Usually there are several in various parts of the garden.  There are some birds that have been regular visitors over the last few years that we haven't seen at all this winter, notably Redpolls, Siskins and Long-tailed Tits, though many are here in all their glory.  Notably the male pheasants, goldfinches, chaffinches and the house sparrows and starlings seem to be doing well here.

I've finally done the publicity artwork for the Open-up artist studio event in Sheffield for the beginning of May.  Applications.  This may be our last year of doing the event at Hangingwater Studio as the press we've been using is going back to it's owner at the beginning of February.  I've already opted out of the Thursday sessions as I now have my own press and will be starting my sessions at Hot Bed Press shortly (I've signed up to their printmaking course for the year to provide new impetus and to extend my understanding).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.