Today's Special

By Connections

First Harvest

My focus moved from the big project of our front garden to a single planter in the back garden today, where I did some thinning of the French Breakfast radishes I'd sown broadcast several weeks ago, which led me, of course, to a variation of the traditional French breakfast sandwich (sliced radishes on buttered baguette).

I made this one on a 4-inch (10cm) slice of the BreadFarm's delicious seeded mini-baguette, spread it with Irish butter (the closest thing we had on hand to French beurre), popped on a generous handful of tiny radishes, sprinkled a little salt on top, and enjoyed every mouthful!

Marvels of the Natural World bonus: The difference between the cotyledons (seed leaves) and the fuzzy first true leaves are quite striking in this close-up.

(Don't miss Freespiral's, Kendall's, and Chaiselongue's baby pictures, in response to Peopletwitcher's challenge. The stories are as fascinating as the images! I'll post mine sometime this week.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.