The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

Big Garden Birdwatch Mug

The 2015 Big Garden Birdwatch weekend is over! I hope some of you reading this did yours!

As we were out at Worcester yesterday watching some rugger we did ours this morning.

I really wasn't expecting much. The garden has been fairly quiet of late.

What the RSPB Garden Birdwatch always shows, and what I often preach in my talks, is that when you actually stop and watch, even just for one hour, then you realise there is far more going on than you believed.

I hoped for about six species ... I got twelve!

The star bird without a doubt was a Grey Wagtail. We get Pied Wagtails in the garden quite often, but I've only ever seen the grey on a few occasions. So for him to pick the hour between half ten and eleven this morning to pop by was quite lucky!

Other than that most of our usual cast of characters made a brief drop by. The only notable exception being the Collared Doves.

Our list was as follows.

Jackdaw - 7
Wren - 1
Carrion Crow - 1
Herring Gull - 6
House Sparrow - 1
Grey Wagtail - 1
Robin - 1
Goldfinch - 1
Magpie - 1
Great Tit - 1
Blue Tit - 1
Dunnock - 1

Can't wait to see the results in a couple of months time!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.