Plus ça change...

By SooB

Whiteout

We buy lots of white paint.  Every time we have a journey from the UK down here in a car, we load up with about 40 litres of white emulsion. Most things I buy locally - but paint here is about twice the price and not such good quality, so we buy British paint when we can.  We would buy plasterboard in the UK as well if it were practical.  I think most of the plasterboard we get in the UK is made in France, and yet is nearly half the price (and with free delivery from the builders' merchant - whereas here a local delivery charge is 95 euros).  

Anyway, that's mainly to say that this afternoon was mostly spent painting.  The morning was mainly spent in school trying to sort out a cheque mess that had me briefly worried.  (Turns out I needn't have worried, but I have tweaked systems to stop such worries in future.)

This was also the day I came downstairs to find CarbBoy tucking into an early breakfast and so engrossed in his book that he didn't notice me come in, boil the kettle, put the radio and the fire on and have a cup of tea.  I'm not hugely in favour of reading at the table (though we all did it when I was growing up) but it feels like it's been such a long road to get him into books, that I just let him be.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.