THE TINY GRASS

with waterdrops.
Yesterday and today there was a phenomenon to watch from behind our window and standing at the balcony too.
At the same time these two days too.  Hundreds, perhaps thousands of sparrows flocking in the air, flying swiftly in formation, from the hills at the other side of the valley to our side, making big rounds, going back to the hills again and coming back. We stood thrilled. Yesterday I did not have my camera ready and thought they would stay for a while.
But as swift as they had come, they had disappeared again.
Today I was more ready for it (although I had not suspected in a way that they would be there again), tried to take pictures, succeeded a bit, not enough for my taste and will wait eagerly for tomorrow.
Perhaps they'll come again?
I do not know where they stay during the night, somewhere in the trees of the Solling wood? Never I have seen a sky completely filled with little birds.
It snowed when we awoke, a very pretty sight. It thawed a bit later too.
I walked down the hill with the intent to take a picture of a cobweb filled with snow, that I had seen yesterday on our walk. Could not find it.
Piet Hein explained later to me that I had not gone far enough. It had been in a wheel of a bicycle.
I have to be careful, I want to avoid a cold that could take me with surprise.

My haiku:

Going south? I ask
Even so late in the year?
We have not decided yet.

And the proverb:

You have gotten a piece of Kitty Sleitchock's bannock

1721 Kelly 373.

Spoken when young ones flatter us for something.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.