CannyScot's Day

By CannyScot

Burns Night

A Dry but dull and overcast day.

Another early morning preach via Skype to my regular Ugandan congregation. The connection was excellent, although there was a minor technical hitch in connecting their laptop to their sound system but it was soon sorted out. Although it was different from last week in that I need to be translated, I am used to it and felt quite free. At the end, a young man indicated that he wanted to become a Christian. The Pastor asked me to pray for him but the connection dropped at that moment. However, I was greatly encouraged by this response.

We then went to our own church - our Pastor will very soon be heading off to Ghana for a Mission Trip.

In the afternoon, my family came round and because we are great tennis fans, my son and I watched a recording of Andy Murrays' match with Grigor Dimitrov. It was a thrilling match and much shouting was to be heard.

Afterwards, we all gathered for a Burn's Night Supper of Haggis, mashed potato and neeps (turnip). It was delicious and it was all eaten. We said the Burns Grace (or Selkirk Grace) which is:

Some hae meat and canna eat,
And some wad eat that want it,
But we hae meat and we can eat,
And sae the Lord be thankit.

A good night was had by all. Maybe I can encourage
you to try Haggis some day soon!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.